News:

English-language friendly kendama forum open for everyone worldwide. Welcome!

Main Menu

What is a stabbing heaven when it's not exactly? LOL

Started by Fireproof, 23 November, 2014, 23:51:31

Previous topic - Next topic

Fireproof

Very much a newbie here.

Question 1:  Can you tell me what this is called?

I am holding the ken with sara grip.  I then pull up the tama and spike it from underneath.  Much like a normal spike with a ken grip, only i'm using a sara grip.  Is that a different trick, or no?

Question 1:  Now that I'm holding the tama up with a sara grip, what's a good move to go to next that's fairly easy for a beginner?

Thank you in advance!!

the milky oolong

Hey [user]Fireproof[/user],

A Stab is normally a Spike in Sara-grip when the hole is above the horizontal, hence it often being referred to as a Down-spike, so a Sara-grip Spike that's catching the tama in a pull-up fashion is just (Sara-grip) Spike (grip normally goes first to clarify).

I can't make out in your second question quite what you mean. Do you mean, now that you've spiked in Sara-grip, where do you go from here? If so, I'd say a real challenge but a crucial exercise would be to try to go:

Small Cup
Spike
Big Cup
Spike
Base Cup
Spike

If you meant something else, then sorry, but you write 'holding the tama up with a sara grip), so unless you mean you're holding the tama with the hole facing down (as for the trick the Americans are calling Stunt Plane), then I don't get it. Still, keep trying out the possibilities, have fun!
Kendama Berlin
German Kendama Open 2014: 1st Place Speed Trick, 2nd Place Knockout
German Kendama Championships 2015: 3rd Place Speed Trick
KEN FEST Hannover, 2016: 3rd Place KEN Battle
KENDAMA CLASH Berlin 2016: 1st Place Intermediate

Fireproof

Thanks so much.  That was exactly what I was looking for.  And you did interpret my second question correctly - that is what I meant.