News:

English-language friendly kendama forum open for everyone worldwide. Welcome!

Main Menu

Structured Practice???

Started by KENRONIN, 16 August, 2016, 18:53:46

Previous topic - Next topic

KENRONIN

Hello.. I'm new to Kendama. I've been doing kendama for about 2 or 3 months or so.  I can do most basic tricks. (although not very consistent)
My question is for the good players out there and players who improved quickly.  How do you practice?  lets say you are trying to learn a few new tricks.. do you just practice one
trick for a set amount of time? or do you set a goal.. like "ill practice it till I land it 10 times"?  I must be doing something wrong.. because I've been
working on jumping stick for at least a month.. and I can still only land it MAYBE 1 in 10. same goes for most other tricks.. seems like i'm doing
something wrong. I practice and practice but i'm not really improving my land percentages.  I know some of you might say to keep practicing and I will get there. but I've done other
skill toys for years..and my consistency level is still very low.  I'm starting to think that I have bad practice habits.  and please don't say practice more.. I practice ALOT.
any practice help would be greatly appreciated :)

BKA

Hello, and welcome to the forum!

We think that the Kyu/Dan grading system is an excellent way to improve your consistency, and build a solid skill level base. http://kendama.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,292.0.html http://kendama.co.uk/tricks.html

For Jumping Stick, have you checked out this thread: http://kendama.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,796.0.html ?

BKA

KENRONIN

Thanks for the reply.  all the links were helpful. and the jumping stick tips will definitely help. but they don't really answer my questions about "How to Practice" the art of practicing I feel is one of the most neglected areas in skill toys and manipulation skills.

The Void

Hello,