News:

English-language friendly kendama forum open for everyone worldwide. Welcome!

Main Menu

Grip for swing to lighthouse (a.k.a 1-turn lighthouse)?

Started by shalafi, 07 March, 2012, 09:56:53

Previous topic - Next topic

shalafi

I have been working on this trick lately, I see at least 2 different grips.

1) Like for an aeroplane (string on top)
2) Like for a 1-turn aeroplane (string underneath the ken)

I can not say which grip is better, since I am not very good at the trick itself.

Which one do you use?
Spanish Kendama Champion 2010, 2012, 2014-16
Depth Perception is Overrated.

PAshaRome

For 1-turn airplane and for 1-turn and 2-turn lighthouse I use the Big cup on top.  This makes ken rotate. When the ken rotate for 180 grades you just pull the tama with more or less power. The same thing for 1-turn big cup lunar, but it will be small cup on top.

FilthyTown

I use the twist swing that is used for lunar/stilts and have earlier on used both methods you mentioned.  It does make a little difference mainly in how the ken will rotate, the speed of rotation in my opinion is really just pulling up correctly when the string tension is right(something that you will eventually be able to 'feel' for).

As for a grip I think it is just a standard tama-grip that most use?

SamB

I've been trying to learn all these tricks recently with both methods. The hook start (string under the big cup and pull up) is fine but I prefer an aeroplane start with a light roll off the fingers to get the cups in line and out of the way of the string.

Swing -> lighthouse is almost the same as an aeroplane just I pull slightly earlier (7 o'clock rather than 8 ) for 1-turn aeroplanes and above I add some extra twang by  using my ring finger on the bottom of the ball (so ring finger right on the bottom of the ball touching the string) to flick the string as I pull.