News:

English-language friendly kendama forum open for everyone worldwide. Welcome!

Main Menu

Kendama USA 2013 Pro Model question

Started by jesse.hill.1200, 18 March, 2013, 01:54:59

Previous topic - Next topic

jesse.hill.1200

Just would like to preface this with the fact that I haven't actually started playing Kendama yet as I am awaiting the arrival of the 2012 KenamaUSA Pro Model that I ordered last week (shipping to Canada is really slow).  Figures that exactly one week after I placed the order with Kendama USA they drop the 2013 Pro Model.  Part of me is wishing I would have waited a week (not that I knew they were coming out today when I made the order...) and part of me is glad that I have the 2012 Pro Model on its way instead.  What worries me is that the paint on the 2013 model appears to be a rubber paint.  Which from the research I have done is kind of like cheating and as a beginner I would really be taking a huge shortcut in learning to Kendama with rubber painted tamas.  So is the new 2013 model that Kendama USA just dropped actually a form of rubber paint or is it just some crazy new matte formula?  Is rubber paint cheating or the next evolution of Kendama playing?

JamesFM

Rubber paint is a training tool. IMO its cheating.

Those new 2013 kendama usa pro models on the other hand look like a matte paint, not rubber. Some would consider this cheating, I would call it an enjoyable advantage. If you are just trying to have some fun, that matte paint will make balance tricks much easier. I try not to take my "toys" too seriously. If you are trying to enter contests, get certified, go pro, etc...  maybe it's not a good idea to get comfortable with grippy paints.

primechicken