News:

English-language friendly kendama forum open for everyone worldwide. Welcome!

Main Menu

Lighthouse

Started by Kev, 29 March, 2013, 17:15:08

Previous topic - Next topic

Kev

Hi peeps.

I'm now landing all the tricks in the Kyu gradings . . . except for the lighthouse.

Not really looking for tips as such as I'm pretty comfortable with what needs to be done but I wanted to ask:

As I only have 1 kendama - natural wood ozora, I've nothing to compare to but does a natural tama make lighthouse harder to land? I've seen a lot of discussion on here regarding sticky paint etc.

My ozora is far from sticky in any way, even if I place the ken on the tama its quite hard to keep the balance. (I'm reasonably adept at balancing juggling clubs etc so not a total noob).

Is lighthouse just difficult? (And therefore practice is the answer) or am I setting myself at a disadvantage with an unpainted tama?

Let me know :)

JamesFM

At first, I could only land Lighthouses on my "sticky" kendamas. With a lot of practice, I can now land them on all of my kendamas.  Just keep going at it. Any trick can be landed on pretty much any kendama.
Lighthouse is a very hard trick, don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

BKA

I think most people find bare wood tamas harder for lighthouse, although the occassional player prefers them.

Kev

Thanks for the replies - after all that, rather hilariously I just landed my first lighthouse!

Ha ha :)

P.S. Good to hear that it's not a no-no with unpainted - personally I think the bare wood is by far the best looking kendama out there. (Although I might pick up a painted one sometime to compare the feel).

Right, now to do it again. Eeek.

br4d24

Ive got a natural bamboo tama that i have been using recently with my tribute, it is more slippy but not too bad compared to my other tama (very worn in).