News:

English-language friendly kendama forum open for everyone worldwide. Welcome!

Main Menu

Practicing for BKA NRC Beginner Division

Started by ChrisD, 13 January, 2012, 13:41:12

Previous topic - Next topic

ChrisD

On Monday, having played Kendama for a whole 2 weeks, I queried whether absolute beginners were welcome to enter the Beginner division of the BKA Northern Regional Championships.  The reply was a welcoming 'Absolutely!', and I've been fitting in as much practice as possible since (which is not very much given my commitments, but I've managed 15 mins twice each day and am seeing some progress).

At the start of the week Gunslinger, Around The Village/Japan, Aeroplane and Lighthouse were all unknown territory.  Gunslinger is coming slowly, though is highly enigmatic.  I manage it quite often, and then it can disappear out of reach.  Landing it feels very strange, like an unexpected lurch of a lift.  I've landed a handful of Aeroplanes for the first time today, though still only about 1 in 20.  Watching Void's demonstration video really helped in getting to this point.  Lighthouse is still out of sight, but I've started having a smidgeon of success with Around the Village, and I have a query here:  I believe the Ken is meant to be pointing forward before the throw to the spike.  But if (as often currently for me), you've fluffed your Big Cup catch and the ball points off to the side, is it acceptable to angle the ken sideward in compensation, as you throw to the spike?  I'm not clear if the way you hold/angle the Ken is a rule or just good form.  (And I guess that uncertainty applies to quite a few other tricks too).

Nothing like the challenge of a completion approaching.  This feels like being in (UK TV series) 'Faking It', only without the intensive hands-on coaching!  I expect I'll crash out on Big Cup, but am having fun trying not too ....

Chris

BKA

Hi Chris

Not allowed: