News:

English-language friendly kendama forum open for everyone worldwide. Welcome!

Main Menu

Opinions on Bamboo Tribute & Sunrise Performer?

Started by br4d24, 09 January, 2013, 09:35:50

Previous topic - Next topic

br4d24

Hello everyone, I have been doing lots of research on this site and now am finally making a post. I got turned on to kendama a little under a month ago by Curtis (winter solstice) and ended up buying a Sunrise Performer off of him. I realize its not the best one to get for a beginner but i couldn't wait to order one online :P

Anyways i just wanted to know what everyone's opinions on the bigger sized kendamas are - what tricks are easier and what tricks are harder? I find it hard to tell because I am just learning still - on that note the ones that do seem to stand out most are lighthouses and birds, also UFO's and whatever its vertical equivalent is called.

Secondly I had made up the decision to buy a new regular sized kendama and went through with ordering a beautiful bamboo tribute. I tried to do some research online about the bamboo vs regular materials but i didn't find much of anything. I think this is due to how new these kendamas are (released recently right?).

Anyways if anyone has played one could you let me know what to expect? Also how are they for durability and the rest? I feel tribute as a brand is quite reputable - also like the idea of having a ken that doesnt come loose, my performer was horrible for that, and i ended up having to put a little screw in to hold it (heavy ball would even break the superglue when trying harder new tricks that sometimes end in hard tama on cup action).

happygoat

I know this is not a direct answer to your question, but in my opinion you should just go and buy a classic regular kendama like an ozora, sunrise or a TK16.

Just my 2 cents!

You could also read the FAQ for more info: http://www.kendama.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,6.0.html

br4d24