News:

English-language friendly kendama forum open for everyone worldwide. Welcome!

Main Menu

New To Kendama

Started by Moefv, 27 April, 2013, 16:29:19

Previous topic - Next topic

Moefv

Hey guys! I am new to Kendamas and was wondering what would be a good Kendama to start out with? I am thinking of buying a Sweet Kendama aTack. Would this be a good choice to start out with? God Bless - Moefv

Cliffdama

got a sweets atack myself to. It's a good sticky kendama and good practice for balance tricks like a lightouse/lunar etc. If you want something a bit more to train te skills i suggest a tribute/sunrise. Those ones are great to start with in my opinion :). If you don't have to much money and want one you are not going to replace in the near future i should buy a ozora, it's a bit harder to learn but if you master tricks on that one you got some true skills i think :p

And most important it's all about having fun so a sweets atack is garuanteed fun because of it's sticky surface. You will do some cool tricks in no time! ^*

br4d24

Quote from: Moefv on 27 April, 2013, 16:29:19
Hey guys! I am new to Kendamas and was wondering what would be a good Kendama to start out with? I am thinking of buying a Sweet Kendama aTack. Would this be a good choice to start out with? God Bless - Moefv

Get an Oozora. I have heard a lot of debate over what the "best" modern kendama is - and after lots of research i have come to the conclusion that Oozora are the (disputed) champs. I havent played a huge number of different brands but compared to the ones i have tried, oozora feels and plays the best :) can never go wrong with an oozie.

Kev

Hi Moefv - and welcome :)

If you're planning to do a kendama grading at some point it might be worth buying a competition approved kendama.

You can see the BKA list here: http://kendama.co.uk/approved.html

(Note: the JKA list is an even smaller selection)